CARTCART
MENUMENU - الكتاب
alkitab.com
Arabian Sands (Penguin Classics)
By: Thesiger, Wilfred (1910-2003)Share

Language: English

Softcover

«Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, [Arabian Sands] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia.» —The Daily Telegraph

«Arabian Sands» is Wilfred Thesiger's record of his extraordinary journey through the parched «Empty Quarter» of Arabia. Educated at Eton and Oxford, Thesiger was repulsed by the softness and rigidity of Western life—«the machines, the calling cards, the meticulously aligned streets.» In the spirit of T. E. Lawrence, he set out to explore the deserts of Arabia, traveling among peoples who had never seen a European and considered it their duty to kill Christian infidels. His now-classic account is invaluable to understanding the modern Middle East.

«The narrative is vividly written, with a thousand little anecdotes and touches which bring back to any who have seen these countries every scene with the colour of real life.» - The Sunday Times (London)

select image to view/enlarge/scroll

Product Details
By:Thesiger, Wilfred (1910-2003)
Language:English
Format:Softcover
Pages: 400 pp
Publisher:Penguin Classics, NY/London, 2008
Dimensions:5.1 x 7.75 inches
ISBN-13:9780141442075
Topic:Classic Travel Writing - Middle East

More Information

Wilfred Thesiger (1910-2003) was a British explorer and travel writer. He was born at Addis Ababa, Abyssinia (now Ethiopia). Educated at Eton and Oxford, he worked in the Sudan Political Service and and later, for a year, as a Political Officer for the Ethiopian Emperor, Haile Selassie. He is best known for two travel books: Arabian Sands (1959) and The Marsh Arabs (1964).

Rory Stewart (introducer) has written for the New York Times Magazine, Granta, and the London Review of Books, and is the author of The Places In Between and The Prince of the Marshes. A former fellow at the Carr Center for Human Rights Policy at Harvard’s John F. Kennedy School of Government, he was awarded the Order of the British Empire by the British government for services in Iraq.


Arabian Sands (Penguin Classics)
US$17.00
  Sale Price: US$15.50

Scroll To Top
Can't find what you need? Have questions?
Send an email: admin@alkitab.com
Or call: 714-539-8100.
alkitab.com الكتاب
Proud to Specialize In...
Arabic Books | Arabic Children Books | Middle East & Islamic Books | Arabic Language Studies
Classical and Contemporary Islamic & Middle Eastern Studies | English-Arabic & Arabic-English Dictionaries

☎ 714-539-8100